Finally done with 1st phase(CCIEW Written)

28th March 2014 – Took holiday from work, good weather, mind rotating with some tricky question for CCIE wireless exam and finally the India Vs Bangladesh WT20 2014 win made my day more wonderful.

Lets come to the point: Finally today I passed the CCIE Wireless Written exam.

Summary about my journey to CCIE Wireless Written, It may help guys who are going with same path.

Do some research and get encouragement from the guys who not only have 1 ……may have 5-6 CCIE certificate in hand.

Here are some:

Just read these blogs, these guys are awesome, there story encouraged me each and every day to study hard.

Strategy to Clear written EXAM:

  • 1. Plan your Journey in proper manner.
  • 2. Prepare what to read.
  • 3. Do not concentrate on lab directly(Just understand theoretical concepts)
  • 4. Try to get sample test papers.

Plan is to study all Cisco quick reference guide by Jerome Henry.

CCNA (640-722-IUWNE) Quick Reference by Jerome Henry
(http://www.ciscopress.com/bookstore/product.asp?isbn=1587143089)

CCNP (642-732 -CUWSS) Quick Reference ,2nd Edition by Jerome Henry
(http://www.ciscopress.com/bookstore/product.asp?isbn=1587143100)

CCNP Wireless (642-737 IAUWS) Quick Reference by Jerome Henry
(http://www.ciscopress.com/bookstore/product.asp?isbn=1587143127)

CCNP Wireless (642-747 IUWMS) Quick Reference, 2nd Edition by Jerome Henry
(http://www.ciscopress.com/bookstore/product.asp?isbn=1587143097)

CCNP Wireless (642-742 IUWVN) Quick Reference by Jerome Henry
(http://www.ciscopress.com/bookstore/product.asp?isbn=1587143119)

CCIE Wireless Exam (350-050) Quick Reference
(http://www.ciscopress.com/bookstore/product.asp?isbn=0132168170)

Study once , twice ……as much as u can..

There are many things you must do:

Try to visit Cislo live presentation.
Cisco Support Community forum – Visit Everyday and try to solve at-least 1-2 problems or check some resolved question on forum.
Get some encouragement from good blogs.
Try to Read the quick reference guide (all above 6 books with latest edition)
Find some sample questions from internet and try to solve.

Now the real challenging part is to prepar for the LAB exam. There are mainly 2 big providers available for CCIEW lab preparation material: IP Expert or Fastlane.
My company is not paying anything except 5 day instructor training with Fastlane for CCIE Wireless Power workshop.(something is better than nothing) and will try to buy somestuff from one of the provider.
One of my friend gave the IP expert Workbook so in my holiday time i can have a quick look and then from may 2014 will start my LAB journey.

Thanks all the Guys who supported me directly or indirectly.

6 thoughts on “Finally done with 1st phase(CCIEW Written)

    1. Hi Rasika,
      Thanks, You are my IDLE and following your footsteps.
      I will try to finish in this year but donยดt have my personal lab so It will take time.
      Once again thanks again and enjoy ICC WT20 , hope Srilanka win ๐Ÿ™‚

      Regards
      Sandeep

  1. Hello Sandeep,
    Thank you for sharing your notes. Your posts are comprehensive and go straight to the point, I like that.

    Congratulations for the written exam, you’re now ready for the big part ๐Ÿ˜‰
    There is an average of six months delay to book a seat for the CCIE Wireless lab in Bruxelles ( https://learningnetwork.cisco.com/message/383457#383457 ).
    Did you book a date yet ?
    What is your strategy for studying the LAB ?
    Do you have a home-lab or a work-lab ?

    I wish you all the best for this journey.

    1. Hello,
      Thank you very much:)
      Yes,Now my eyes are on big fish but Its not so easy to crack.I never heard about this 6 months delay in Brussels, It is really good info.
      No I did not book a date yet ๐Ÿ™‚
      Right now i have only these 2 plan :
      1. First I will study all Config Example and Tech-note from cisco.com, then i will practice in my test LAB.
      2. Will go for instructor training for CCIEW Power workshop.

      Yes I have a test lab in My company but with only few devices(NO ACS,MSE,5500WLC, just have 2100,2500WLC, ISE, 2602AP, 1142AP, PI)

      what is your suggestion ??

      Regards
      Sandeep

  2. I don’t know if I can suggest something, I am studying too but you are ahead. I have not reach this part of the battle yet.
    I have decided to go step by step, CCNA then CCNP and maybe the final round.
    I am a little bit confused because I don’t konw when CCIE V3 will be out and I don’t even have the CCNA wireless.

    For your preparation you should use equipments with the same code as in the real lab which is 7.0
    https://learningnetwork.cisco.com/docs/DOC-5278

    I am not sure you will be able to use a 2602AP.

    Have fun with your journey

Leave a comment